Connect with us


Belgium – CLM – Evenepoel, Campenaerts… they challenge themselves on Wednesday!



The 2021 Belgian Championships will start on Wednesday. They will be held in the province of West Flanders, starting in Ingelmunster, where the time trials will be held. While the women will compete on a 25-kilometer course, the men will have 37.6 kilometers to complete in this 2021 edition. Double title holder Wout Van Aert (Team Jumbo-Visma), troubled by health problems in recent weeks, has decided to skip the race, which seems to leave the field open to Remco Evenepoel.

Duel de jeunes talents entre Remco Evenepoel et Ilan Van Wilder ?

The Deceuninck-Quick Step rider, who won the Tour of Belgium last week and built up his success by winning the time trial, will undoubtedly be the man to beat. However, he will have to be at his best if he wants to win, because riders like his teammate Yves Lampaert and Victor Campenaerts (Team Qhubeka ASSOS), who have won one (2017) and two (2016 and 2018) times respectively, will be doing everything they can to get back on the top step of the podium.

Ilan Van Wilder (Team DSM), who has excelled in time trials recently, will also be a strong candidate for the podium, as will Frederik Frison (Lotto Soudal), who finished third in 2020, and Florian Vermeeersch (Lotto Soudal), who recently finished eighth in the inaugural time trial at the Tour de Suisse. In the women’s race, the favorite will be two-time title holder Lotte Kopecky (Liv Racing). She will be up against Ann-Sophie Duyck (Multum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team), five-time Belgian time trial champion between 2014 and 2018, and Sara Van de Vel (Team Rupelcleaning-Champion Lubricants), her runner-up in 2020.

Starting order of the Men’s Time Trial (37.6 km)

14h55 – DE PLUS Jasper (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux)
14h56 – ROMBOUTS Seppe (Lviv Continental Cycling Team)
14h57 – VAN DEN BRANDE Julien (Tarteletto-Isorex)
14h58 – VERDIJCK Niels (EuroCyclingTrips – CMI Pro Cycling Team)
14h59 – CRAS Steff (Lotto Soudal)
15h00 – REYNDERS Jens (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)
15h01 – GRIGNARD Sébastien (Lotto Soudal)
15h02 – MARIT Arne (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)
15h03 – JANSSENS Jimmy (Alpecin-Fenix)
15h04 – DE WILDE Gilles (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)
15h05 – MARCHAND Gianni (Tarteletto-Isorex)
15h06 – VERMOTE Julien (Alpecin-Fenix)
15h07 – VAN DEN BOSSCHE Fabio (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)
15h08 – VAN HOOYDONCK Nathan (Team Jumbo-Visma)
15h09 – VAN MOER Brent (Lotto Soudal)
16h05 – COLMAN Alex (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)
16h06 – VERVAEKE Louis (Alpecin-Fenix)
16h07 – WEEMAES Sasha (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)
16h08 – VERMEERSCH Florian (Lotto Soudal)
16h09 – LEYSEN Senne (Alpecin-Fenix)
16h10 – APERS Ruben (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)
16h11 – RICKAERT Jonas (Alpecin-Fenix)
16h12 – LAMPAERT Yves (Deceuninck-Quick Step)
16h13 – HERREGODTS Rune (Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise)
16h14 – DE WULF Stan (AG2R Citroën Team)
16h15 – VAN WILDER Ilan (Team DSM)
16h16 – FRISON Frederik (Lotto Soudal)
16h17 – CAMPENAERTS Victor (Team Qhubeka ASSOS)
16h18 – EVENEPOEL Remco (Deceuninck-Quick Step)

The last ten editions

2020 : Wout Van Aert (Team Jumbo-Visma)
2019 : Wout Van Aert (Team Jumbo-Visma)
2018 : Victor Campenaerts (Lotto Soudal)
2017 : Yves Lampaert (Quick-Step Floors)
2016 : Victor Campenaerts (Team LottoNL-Jumbo)
2015 : Jurgen Van den Broeck (Lotto Soudal)
2014 : Kristof Vandewalle (Trek Factory Racing)
2013 : Kristof Vandewalle (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step)
2012 : Kristof Vandewalle (Omega Pharma – Quick-Step)
2011 : Philippe Gilbert (Omega Pharma-Lotto)

Most final wins

3 : Leif Hoste (2001, 2006 et 2007) / Marc Wauters (2002, 2003 et 2005) / Kristof Vandewalle (2012, 2013 et 2014)

Starting order of the Women’s Time Trial (25 km)

13h00 – PENNYNCK Charlotte
13h01 – DEBOCK Julie
13h02 – APERS Nicky
13h03 – POPELIER Lotte (Doltcini-Van Eyck Sport-Proximus)
13h04 – VAN GEYTE Katie
13h05 – VERBEEK Britt
13h06 – DERIE Paquita
13h07 – BOURGUIGNON Margot
13h08 – MERTENS Fiona
13h09 – BECKERS Isabelle (Team Rupelcleaning-Champion Lubricants)
13h10 – SAP Julie
13h11 – FEYTENS Ellen
13h12 – TEN HARTOG Sarah
13h13 – GOESSENS Brenda
13h14 – CHARLIER Laura
13h35 – HAERS Carolien
13h36 – LEEMAN Mieke
13h37 – CASSIERS Cato
13h38 – DEBOUCK Elena
13h39 – LACOMPTE Amber (Team Rupelcleaning-Champion Lubricants)
13h40 – DOCX Mieke (Doltcini-Van Eyck Sport-Proximus)
13h41 – SCHOKKAERT Febe
13h42 – CLAES Lotte
13h43 – CASTRIQUE Alana (Lotto Soudal Ladies)
13h44 – DE BOECK Jasmien
13h45 – BASTIAENSSEN Fauve
13h46 – BRANDT Eefje (Multum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team)
13h47 – DE VOS Nele
13h48 – KNAVEN Britt (NXTG Racing)
13h49 – GIELKENS Esmée
14h10 – DEBBOUDT Lensy
14h11 – DOBBELAERE Jana
14h12 – LANSSENS Lien
14h13 – AERNOUTS Amber (Doltcini-Van Eyck Sport-Proximus)
14h14 – DE WILDE Julie (Plantur-Pura)
14h15 – VANDENBROUCKE Saartje
14h16 – DE SMEDT Marijke (Multum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team)
14h17 – VAN EYNDE Fien (Doltcini-Van Eyck Sport-Proximus)
14h18 – VANDENBULCKE Jesse (Lotto Soudal Ladies)
14h19 – DEMEY Valerie (Liv Racing)
14h20 – BOSSUYT Shari (NXTG Racing)
14h21 – DUYCK Ann-Sophie (Multum Accountants Ladies Cycling Team)
14h22 – VAN DE VELDE Julie (Team Jumbo-Visma Women)
14h23 – VAN DE VEL Sara (Team Rupelcleaning-Champion Lubricants)
14h24 – KOPECKY Lotte (Liv Racing)

The last ten editions

2020 : Lotto Kopecky (Lotto Soudal Ladies)
2019 : Lotto Kopecky (Lotto Soudal Ladies)
2018 : Ann-Sophie Duyck (Cervélo-Bigla Pro Cycling)
2017 : Ann-Sophie Duyck (Drops)
2016 : Ann-Sophie Duyck (Topsport Vlaanderen-Etixx)
2015 : Ann-Sophie Duyck (Topsport Vlaanderen – Pro – Duo)
2014 : Ann-Sophie Duyck
2013 : Liesbet De Vocht (Rabobank-Liv Giant)
2012 : Liesbet De Vocht (Rabobank Women Team)
2011 : Liesbet De Vocht (Topsport Vlaanderen-Ridley 2012)

Most wins

5 : Ann-Sophie Duyck (2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 et 2018)

4 : Liesbet De Vocht (2009, 2011, 2012 et 2013)

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *